Lee Anne Walker shoots 127 at Senior LPGA after 42 penalty strokes


FRENCH LICK, Ind. – That’s not a typo by Lee Ann Walker’s name.

Her scores at the Senior LPGA Championship are legitimately 127-90. They were adjusted after it came to Walker’s attention that she had violated the rules by having her caddie line her up on the putting surface at the Pete Dye Course.

Walker incurred a two-stroke penalty for each time it happened, adding 42 strokes to her opening score of 85. Additional strokes were added to her second-round score.

LPGA rules official Marty Robinson said another caddie in the group informed Walker of the rules infraction midway through the front nine of her second round.

SCORES: Senior LPGA Championship

Walker then brought the situation to an official’s attention, Robinson said.

“We had her recreate the times that that happened,” said Robinson.

Earlier this year, the USGA and R&A implemented a change that prohibited caddies from lining up a player on the putting surface under Rule 10.2b.

Lee Anne Walker’s adjusted scorecard from her first round at the 2019 Senior LPGA Championship. Source: lpga.com

.

CONTACT US

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Sending
© 2009-2017 SendtoNews Video Inc.
All video content, images, logos, and trademarks presented on this site are the property of their respective owners.